Battling Through Adversity

Marcus Luttrell, a former Navy Seal made famous for his best selling book, “Lone Survivor” once said, “Draw a Line and crawl to it until you reach your goal, never quit. Quitting is never an option. Never stop.”

This quote has seemingly stuck with me time and time again when dealing with adversities. I am strongly against comparing sports and life adversities to war adversities for obvious reasons. I have the upmost respect for anyone in the military or retired from the military, they have proven their patriotism and their dedication to the great United States. However, that being said I think there a lot of valuable lessons that can be learned from these fearless warriors and their mental toughness and ability to handle adversity in the darkest times.

I recently finished reading a book titled, “Fearless” about the ultimate sacrifice of a true warrior and family man devoted to God and his country. This man, Adam Brown, possesses every trait that any human could ever wish to obtain. He never had quit in him and was always the first to volunteer for the hardest, most challenging positions and jobs. This man’s life story had shown me how truly blessed I am to be alive, healthy, and have the most incredible support group in my friends and family. Everyday waking up at 6:00 a.m I try to remember these things and take on my day with a positive attitude and a smile no matter what.

Getting through lacrosse practice and school is simply not acceptable. There are literally thousands of people who would kill to be in the position of anyone at High Point, let alone be a member of the tight knit family that is the lacrosse team. I am trying to wake up every day now with the attitude that every day is a blessing and give my 100% at everything I do. Being mentally tough is the trait that I strive to achieve everyday above all else.

So when times get tough and you seem to be bogged down with work, school, sickness, athletics, whatever it may be just remember: It is never as bad as you think, and you are never truly suffering. Just draw a line and get it done. Always say thank you, be respectful to everyone, and stay positive. If you have a goal, no matter how big or small it is, never give up on it and do whatever it takes to get the job done.

“You’re never out of the fight.”

Thanks for reading- Hunter Edens

Leave a comment