Midterm Week and Lacrosse

What a past two weeks it has been. First off, I’d like to apologize to my dedicated Blog readers for my lack of posting last week. I have been slammed with lacrosse as well as being extremely busy with school work.

Last week we played Robert Morris University for a weekly game. This game was particularly special to me as I went there my freshman year before transferring to High Point. We ended up winning the game by a score of 13-10. We travel to New York this weekend to take on Marist University in what is looking like to be a pretty chilly game.

Now for what I’d really like to talk about which is my Senior Thesis Paper that I am currently working on right now. Being a Biology major you are required to complete a 10-15 page research paper investigating anything in the field of science that interests you. You must use at least 15 Peer-reviewed research articles and the paper must be in perfect formatting. Upon completion of the paper you are required to give a twenty minute powerpoint presentation on your research to the biology faculty as well as the students that attend the seminar.

For my research I decided to investigate the clinical use of the psycho-stimulant drug lisdexamfetamine (or more commonly known as Vyvanse). This drug is FDA approved for the treatment of ADHD and binge-eating disorder. In my thesis I investigate the history of the drug, the clinical uses, the metabolic conversion that takes places once the drug is consumed, the neurological response that is triggered from this stimulant, and finally the side affects and abuse risk of this drug. I am particularly interested in this topic because many of my friends and family are prescribed this drug and want to do research to see if this drug really is safe in a long term study of subjects. Also, over the course of taking my Biology and Psychology courses at High Point the study of eating disorders greatly interested me, and the use of a stimulant to help control such eating disorders amazes me. Doing research on this topic has opened my eyes to how incredible and complex the human body really is, and how amazing and efficient this well oiled machine operates.

On top of the senior thesis it seems as though essentially all of my other teachers decided it would be a good time to pile on a boat load of work in my Chemistry and Female Biology courses. Its only fitting that all work is due at the same time, Right?!

I have attached a copy of the working progress of my senior thesis at the bottom of my blog post. Feel free to give it glance if you have time and let me know what you think I’ve got so far!

Once again sorry about not posting last week and I hope everyone has a great Spring Break!

-Hunter

Senior Thesis

2 thoughts on “Midterm Week and Lacrosse

  1. Hunter I am sorry to hear about all of our work at one time. You should have checked your class syllabus out and realized that you had this stuff due, then you wouldn’t be slammed. That’s what I do anyways and I never have trouble with deadlines. Also congrats on the big win, I heard you started and I saw your big diving goal at the Sacred Heart game. I look forward to attending your senior thesis presentation. Later H.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment